Industrial Actions in Australia Update

Port/sAll ports
Issue TypeIndustrial Actions
ImpactPartial Closure

Today, Svitzer Australia informed the three maritime unions (MUA, AIMPE and AMOU) and relevant crew of its intent to lockout all crews covered by the Svitzer Australia Pty Ltd National Towage Enterprise Agreement (2016) indefinitely, from 12pm, Friday 18 November 2022 AEDT.

The step is being taken by Svitzer under the provisions of the Fair Work Act in response to damaging and ongoing industrial action being organised by the unions.

The lockout notice affects port operations in the following locations:


  • Cairns
  • Mourilyan
  • Lucinda
  • Brisbane


  • Newcastle
  • Sydney: Port Botany & Port Jackson
  • Port Kembla
  • Eden


  • Melbourne
  • Westernport

South Australia

  • Adelaide
  • Port Pirie

Western Australia

  • Albany
  • Fremantle
  • Kwinana
  • Geraldton

Please find a summary of the industrial action by port in the file below.